Normalcy in the Midst of Loss

It’s like deja vu all over again. I’m at my school when a natural disaster hits. The first time, I didn’t just go without power. I went without a home, a school, family, friends…Normalcy. I was a senior in high school for only 2 weeks and it all was wiped away. Even though I could not go home the one thing my mom did, that I’ll forever be grateful for, was give me a sense of normalcy. 

Before we left, I took my books, because my mother and St. Mary’s Academy had taught me that I must always remain focused on my goals, even when I feel like it’s too hard to keep going. The world will keep moving and I will have to move with it. My teachers told me even though we were evacuating, we still had homework. I am grateful for this because while the rest of my world was crumbling, this was the only thing connecting me to what was apart of my everyday life. I was still a student.

When I no longer was allowed to go home, because there wasn’t a home to go to, I found my same teachers on Facebook and had some of their numbers. They encouraged me to continue on at my new school. They continued to push me even though I was no longer in their class. My mother put me in a new school and still had the same expectations of me to do my best. This sense of normalcy kept me from going into a deep depression. 

Here we are again, 11 years later, at the same place where it all began. Yet, this time, God spared my school. God saw fit to allow me to extend that normalcy back to my students. Their world has been shaken, but as I have seen in Baltimore, Ferguson, Flint and in my own city, educators provide normalcy to students in the middle of trials. 

Like those who have educated me, I will choose to provide a sense of normalcy for my students. They have lost, but they are still here. It is not over. There is a purpose for them to still be here. I intend to continue to walk with them as my teachers walked with me. 

Not only so, but we also find glory in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; perseverance, character; and character, hope. And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.

Romans 5:3‭-‬5 NIV

Leave a Reply

