Product Review: Madam CJ Walker Beauty Culture Curl Enhancing Essentials

Disclaimer: I have a 3b/3c hair type. The results may vary based on your hair type.

For the past 8 years, I have stuck to only 1 product line and that’s SheaMoisture. It has been my first love and still is, but last week I decided to try something new. 

I’ve always wanted to use the Madam CJ Walker Beauty Culture hair care line for 3 reasons:

  1. It’s under the Sundial Brands umbrella
  2. It’s black owned
  3. IT’S MADAM CJ WALKER!

If you are even a little bit familiar with the Godmother of black hair products then you know that this line is so important to her legacy. With the black hair industry being worth over $1Billion, it has been a long time coming to see her legacy live on.

Now for the product review:

Where to buy: Sephora or their website

Cost: $28 (30.73 with tax)

What you get:

JBCO & Murumuru Oils Ultra Moisturizing Cowash

After spraying my scalp with apple cider vinegar to breakdown old product build up, I applied the cowash to my scalp. Immediately, the smell captured my attention. It reminds me of a nice warm day outside on the back porch while listening to smooth jazz. Once applying the product to my scalp, I noticed how thick the consistency was. Of course with a cowash there weren’t any suds, but after 2 washes, my hair did feel clean. 

Grade: A

Jamaica Black Castor Oil

Typically, after cowash or shampooing I would apply a hair masque to deep condition. This box did not come with one (hopefully in the future it will). For the sake of testing these products together specifically, I did not deep condition. 

I ended up using the entire bottle because it is extremely tiny. Ironically, it just so happened to be enough. The oil was REALLY thick, which I love, but at first, I thought it was a tad bit too heavy after doing a cowash and not a shampoo. I definitely would love to have this to add to my oil cocktail. 

Grade: A

Curl Enhancing JBCO & Murumuru Oils Defining Butter Cream

Now this was the creme de la creme. I love a good Moisturizer, especially one that gets the job done without using too much. This curl enhancer did leave my hair feeling exceptionally moisturized and provided a light hold. My curls were definitely defined. I can’t wait to use it again. 

Grade: A+

Reflecting on the kinks:

  • I love this line so much and would highly recommend it. 
  • This product line works well on coily to tightly coiled hair (3b-4c).
  • I would use a hair masque and leave in to use the LOC Method 
  • MCJWBC is a great line to try, but can be expensive. I appreciate having the smaller sizes to test out before  considering investing.
  • Although the line is costly, a little bit can go a very long way. MCJWBC is worth the investment.
2 thoughts on “Product Review: Madam CJ Walker Beauty Culture Curl Enhancing Essentials

  1. Emeka Anyanwu says:

    Thanks for this review!! I recently began an actual hair regime, and utilize Shea Moisture. However, when it’s time to re-up on product I will definitely give Madam CJ Walker Beauty Culture a try!

    Like

Leave a Reply

