The Need To Be Still

We are officially on Mardi Gras break. The noise and live action are going on downtown and I am here, on the levee finding peace and serenity. 

It’s been so many years since I’ve been able to sit by a lake and just feel. To just be still. To not think. To clear my thoughts.

It’s in nature where I feel closest to God. I sit back and marvel at our Creator and how He took the time to create beautiful colors, how he allows waves to crash while the wind pushes them to their peak.The wind is one of the most intriguing mysteries I’ve ever felt. I don’t see it, but I feel it kiss my skin. I see the leaves and flowers move with its force. 

The only way I can truly be able to see and appreciate this is if I am present and still. 

I don’t know about you, but life gets pretty busy. Sometimes I am going so much I forget to eat or forget what day it is. Everything just starts to blend together. My body begins to get tired. My thoughts are always on to the next one, and I am drained. 


Taking moments like today help me to remember how much constant stillness is necessary. When too much is going on, in the back of my mind I hear God saying

Be still and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

This verse brings me back and quiets my active life. It reminds me that in doing too much, I have replaced God with busyness. I do too much and forget that I am only one, not THE ONE. I cannot do it all and that is OK. In recent years, I’ve come to learn that busyness reveals my lack of trust in God. Where society pushes us to constantly be on the go, God wants us to trust him in the stillness.

I know that I am in need of stillness so that God can move. I really haven’t given him the room to do so over the past few months. I have learned He will move in His own time whetherI am ready or not, but my busyness doesn’t make the process easier.

On this break, I want to focus on being still. I need to remember that God is God, and I am not. I am but the creation of a mighty Creator who has a purpose for me. So I must be still and trust what he has in store for me.

“Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for him.” – Psalm 37:7

Leave a Reply

